Saturday, December 30, 2006

Happy New Year!

Hi guys just to let you know I'll be away for a couple of days as I'll be doing the New Year thing at various clubs near you. I'd like to wish you all a very happy, fab and prosperous New Year. I haven't been doing this blogging thing for long but through doing this, I have 'met' so many interesting people and I'd like to thank y'all for all the love and support so far. Makes it all worthwhile and hope to 'meet' een more of you. Enjoy whats left of the holiddays and whatever you get up to please stay safe. See y'all next year!

Friday, December 29, 2006

New Eddie Murphy Movie

This is the trailer to Eddie Murphy's new movie, Norbit, out in February.The movie sees Eddie back to doing what does best comedy and playing several roles in one movie. Can't wait!

Thursday, December 28, 2006

Thursdays Throwback Video: JamesBrown- 'Sex Machine'

For this week's Throwback Video it is only fitting that we pay tribute to the legend James Brown at work.

Ashanti & Nelly Engaged??

According to Vibe Cofidential, unconfirmed rumours surrouding the two suggest that they got engaged over the Christmas holidays. We'll let you know for sure whether this is true or whether it turns out to be like one of Jay-Z/Beyonce rumours.

Oprah Moves In With Steadman

In other relationship news...after more than twenty years, Oprah and her longtime beau, Steadman Graham are finally moving in together.

According to Life and Style magazine, Oprah, 52, and Stedman Graham, 55, are set to make it official that they're going to cohabitate, possibly in the
US$ 6 million dollars Chicago apartment thatOprah just bought.

Amidst these rumours, speculations are also high that this could be the first step towards an Oprah-Stedman wedding.

The magazine's source believes that at 52, Oprah, has probably proved that she is a strong independant woman, and she is finally "happy to let Stedman have what he wants."

While an Oprah representative downplayed talk of nuptials, it confirmed the news.[Source]

Must be something in the festive air,then!

Wednesday, December 27, 2006

James Brown Funeral Service Date Announced

James Brown is to receive a public funeral on Saturday December 30 2006.

A massive ceremony for the Godfather of Soul will be held at an 8,000 capacity arena in Augusta at 1pm local time. Civil rights leader and close friend Al Shapton will host the service.

A separate private ceremony for close family and friends will take place a day earlier at an undisclosed setting.

As we reported yesterday, fans who wish to pay their respects will also get the chance to see Brown when his body lies in state at the famous Apollo Theatre in New York tomorrow, Thursday December 28.

Lil' Kim to Appear in Celebrity Big Brother?

According to the rumours doing the rounds Lil' Kim will be one of the housemates in the latest Celebrity Big Brother which starts on the 3rd of January.Already trouble has started to brew before production has started.

Lil' Kim is reportedly rowing with Channel 4 execs after demanding £500,000(US$1 million) to appear on the show.

Kim, real name is Kimberly Jones, was originally offered £255,000 (just over US$500 000) to star in the show but has demanded double that figure.

However, Kim is now said to be considering an offer of nearly £400,000 - but has also made a list of diva demands, reports The Sun Newspaper.

Her wish list includes:
-final approval of all footage of her
-a personal assistant and a hairdresser and make-up stylist on stand-by,
-a first class trip-for-two around the US and accommodation and a two-week holiday for two in London.

A show source said: "She may be small but she has a larger-than-life". [Source]

If this is all true :

a) she really must be desperate now;let's face it, the show is usually for D to Z-list celebs desperate to resuscitate their dying careers,

b) after her court case and stint in jail things must relly be tight and she definitely must have major bills to pay and

c) how will be able to she pre-approve any footage of her when its a live show?? duuhhh!!

Tuesday, December 26, 2006

R.I.P. James Brown

We mourn then loss of the Godfather of Soul, the hardest working man in showbusiness and probably the most influential man in black music,
James Joseph Brown Jr. James died yesterday at Emory Hospital in Atlanta, GA due to heart failre; he was 73. Our thoughts and prayers are with his family at this very sad time.

As funeral arrangements are still taking place, it has just been revealed that James Brown's body will be taken to the place where his career began, a place he always loved performing, the Harlem Apollo, this Thursday. Brown's body will be laid on the stage from 1pm to 8pm so that his many legions of fans can pay their last respects and have one last look at the legend. More arrangements will be announced later.

Thursday, December 21, 2006

Thursdays Throwback: Christmas Videos

As its the festive season here's a few Christmas videos from some of my favourite artists to put you in the mood..

Mariah Carey- All I Want For Christmas (Remix) feat. JD & Bow Wow

Toni Braxton-It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year (Live)

Boyz II Men - Let It Snow (Feat. Brian McKnight)

Christina Aguilera & Brian McKnight- Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

Stevie Wonder- Jingle Bells

Luther Vandross - Every Year Every Christmas

Destiny's Child - 8 Days of Christmas

Take 6 Live - Joy To The World/Christmas Medley

Merry Christmas y'all!

Wednesday, December 20, 2006

New Beyonce Video:'Listen'

Taken from the Dreamgirls movie soundtrack.

Personally I can't wait for the movie to finally come out...for this whole publicity thing to end. Don't get me wrong, I am not hating on Beyonce, I think she is amazingly talented and I know the movie will be brilliant and will win countless awards(and I will go out and watch it and even buy the DVD!) but I just think the whole publicity machine behind it has been too much for us. Beyonce, in particular, is everywhere.She has been so over-exposed that I cant wait for it all to end.

Here's the proof...

Beyonce on TRL...

More proof....
Beyonce outside the Dave Letterman studios...

Need I say more?

Eminem Divorces Kim....Again

Eminem and his high school sweetheart wife, Kim, divorced yesterday for the second time.. less than a year after they remarried. According to a judge, they "are a fine couple to deal with." They will share custody of their 10-year-old daughter ...[Source]
Who says the world is normal?

Ice-T's Wife on the Cover of Smooth Magazine

Heres the latest issue of Smooth Magazine featuring Ice-T's wife, Coco on the cover.

Click here to view more photos from the issue.

Leona: 'A Moment Like This Video'

Here's the official video to Leona's new and first single A Moment Like This. Apologies for the poor quality at the beginning of the clip.

Tuesday, December 19, 2006

Nas & Kelis' Black & White Ball

Nas & Kelis held a black and white ball in New York City to celebrate the release of Nas' new album Hip Hop is Dead Here are some of the photos...

Kelis still boldly going forth with her look..guess Nas loves it.Good to see the family photo with Nas daughter,Destiny.

New Whitney Single: 'Family First'

Check out Whitney Houston's new single.It is taken from the movie soundtrack Daddy's Little Girls and features Dionne Warwick and Cissy Houston. It will be released on January 9

Family First

Janet Jackson:...Yet Another Magazine Cover

Just when you thought Jackson had graced the covers of every magazine on the planet...think again. This is the latest issue of Harpers Bazaar and will probably not go down in history as the best Janet cover I've seen.

Spotted Recently....

Christina Milian and Dre at a birthday party for Dre.....thought the rumour was that these two had broken up???

Dame Dash his wife Rachel Roy and their daughter at the American Museum of Natural History for the premiere of 'Night at the Museum’on Sunday
Man how times have changed since the split with Jay-z. Brother doesnt possess that swagger he used to have. Ever since the charges, brother has been seen doing the 'family thing' a lot more

Vivica Fox at the 10th Annual Miami Gala on Watson Island in Miami on Saturday.
The dude in the black & white shirt,believe or not, is ex-athlete Carl Lewis

Super producer Scott Storch at his birthday party.

'Blood Diamond' Movie Causes a Stir in Sierra Leonne

A few weeks ago we previewed the trailer of the new movie Blood Diamond. Apparently, officials in Sierra Leone are worried that the new Warner Bros. movie “The Blood Diamond,” about gem smuggling in Africa, will cause viewers to turn away from purchasing the precious jewels, and thus hurt the country’s vital diamond export industry.
The film starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Djimon Hounsou is set in Sierra Leone during the war-torn 1990s, when diamonds were being illegally sold to fund bloody civil wars in the region.
"I am worried the film may be detrimental to the industry in Sierra Leone," said Mohamed Swaray Deen, minister of mineral resources, according to Reuters. "People need to know that when they are seeing atrocities, the country has moved very, very far away from the pictures they see in the movie. But the consumer might be affected by this."
Sierra Leone's war helped prompt the U.N.-organized Kimberly Process launched in 2003 to ensure "blood" or "conflict" diamonds are not sold on the black market to buy weapons. Kimberly has jump-started the industry in Sierra Leone: diamond exports boomed from $10 million in 2000 to $141 million last year. The government receives 3 percent of exports, worth $4.23 million last year.
Since 2001, the government has set aside a quarter of gem revenues for the Diamond Area Community Development Fund, which fosters development in mining areas.
"A lot of development has taken place since the war and the movie needs to include this," Deen said. [Source]

Yeah that's right, typical of governments, worrying more about money than true depictions of history that will serve to shape the disgusting!

Sunday, December 17, 2006

Clive Davis to sign Leona

Music mogul and one of the most influential men in modern music Clive Davis is to sign Leona to his fold. Davis, the man behind record labels Arista and J-Records and the very succesful careers of Whitney Houston and Alicia Keys beat offers from Sony BMG and other major labels to win the bid. This can only be a good move as he has an amazing eye for good talent considering other succesful artists that he has signed like Jamie Foxx, Rod Stewart, Angie Stone, Kelly Clarkson and, more recently Jennifer Hudson.

Hot UK Album Releases: 18/12/06

Here's my weekly guide as to the hottest albums out in the UK tomorrow. Some of these will no doubt be Christmas stocking fillers for y'all!

Leona's New Single: 'A Moment Like This'

Heres Leona performing her first single 'A Moment Like This' . .Apparently the song was originally done by Kelly Clarkson when she won American Idol back in 2002. True talent prevailed and won last night, for a change

Saturday, December 16, 2006

Leona Wins!!!!!!!!!!

After beating 100 000 contestants Leona has become the first woman to win the X-Factor..and a very well deserved win at that. Well done and thanks everyone for your votes!

Friday, December 15, 2006

Young Collectors Council 2006 Artists Ball

The stars were out at the Young Collector Council 2006 Artist's Ball held at the Guggenheim Museum in New York yesterday and sponsored by Giorgio Armani.
Ciara and Jada rocked the evening!

Janet Jackson's Official 2007 Calendar

Well a Happy New Year to y'all!

Kelis Looking a Hot Mess...Again

New photos of Kelis at the 10 year anniversary of Trace Magazine. She is on the cover of the 10th anniversary issue and looks amazing but really looks awful at the party. Nas was there as well.